Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Flatiron Hot! News | January 17, 2018

Scroll to top


Endorsement Roundup: A List of Endorsements for District 3 City Council Elections

Endorsement Roundup: A List of Endorsements for District 3 City Council Elections
Eric Shapiro

This list is by no means comprehensive; rather, it is a sampling of each candidate’s endorsements, intended as a starting point for those deciding who to vote for in the upcoming District 3 elections. You can find out more at the candidates’ official websites: Yetta Curland, Corey Johnson

Yetta Curland

Labor Unions


Amalgamated Transit Union International

Amalgamated Transit Union – Local 1181

Council of School Supervisors and Administrators, Local 1


CWA Local 1180

Detectives Endowment Association

District Council 37

District Council 1707

IATSE Local One Theatrical Stage Employees

International Union of Operating Engineers Local Union No. 94, AFL-CIO

Metallic Lathers & Reinforcing Iron Workers Union Local 46

New York City Board of Education Employees Local 372 (DC37 AFSCME)

NYS Machinists District 15

New York City Clerical-Administrative Employees Local 1549 (DC 37 AFSCME)

New York Metro Area Postal Union, APWU, AFL-CIO

Organization of Staff Analysts

Professional Staff Congress of the City University of New York

TWU Local 100


Democratic Clubs

McManus Democratic Club

The Chelsea-Midtown Democratic Club

The Women’s Democratic Club of NYC

Ansonia Independent Democrats

504 Democratic Club


Local and National Organizations

Citizen Action of New York

Democracy for America

Democracy for America – New York City

Democracy for New York City

Emily’s List

Educational Justice -PAC

League of Independent Theater – New York

National Organization for Women – New York City


New York State Higher Education- PAC

Progressive Change Campaign Committee

Street Vendor Power

Voterbook NYC f/k/a Obama NYC

Women’s Campaign Fund


Elected Officials

Hon. U.S. Congresswoman Nydia Velázquez

Hon. U.S. Congresswoman Kyrsten Sinema

Hon. NYS State Senator Eric Adams

Hon. NYS State Senator Bill Perkins

Hon. Fmr. NYC Mayor David Dinkins

Hon. Fmr. Manhattan Borough President C. Virginia Fields

Hon. Fmr. Bronx Borough President Fernando Ferrer

Hon. Fmr. NYC Public Advocate Betsy Gotbaum

Hon. NYC Councilmember Ydanis Rodriguez

Hon. Fmr. NYS Democratic Committeeman Carlos Manzano

Hon. District Leader James R. McManus

Hon. District Leader Paul D. Newell

Hon. District Leader Jean Grillo

Hon. Yonkers City Council President Chuck Lesnick

Hon. Village Trustee Kevin Davis

Hon. Yonkers City Councilmember Michael Sabatino


Corey Johnson

Labor Unions

United Food and Commercial Workers (UFCW) Local 1500

Retail, Wholesale, and Department Store Union (RWDSU)

Teamsters Joint Council 16

American Federations of Musicians Local 802


Uniformed Fire Officers Association

U.S. Hotel and Motel Trades Council

Mason Tenders District Council

United Federation of Teachers

The Worker Families Party

Communications Workers of America (CWA) Local 1101

International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers


Doctors Council SEIU

UAW Region 9A

Democratic Clubs

Village Independent Democrats

Chelsea Reform Democratic Club

Lower Manhattan Democrats

The Village Reform Democratic Club

Park River Independent Democrats

Downtown Independent Democrats

Gay and Lesbian Independent Democrats

Elected Officials

Hon. U.S. Congressman Jerrold Nadler (NY-10)

Hon. Congresswoman Carolyn Maloney

Hon. Richard Gottfried, New York State Assembly Member and Chair of Assembly Health Committee

Hon. Tom Duane, Former New York State Senator and New York City Council Member for District 3

Hon. Brad Hoylman, New York State Senator

Hon. Linda B. Rosenthal, New York State Assembly Member

Hon. Deborah Glick, New York State Assembly Member

Hon. Elizabeth Holtzman, Former Democratic Congresswoman of New York

Hon. Barney Frank, Democratic Congressman of Massachusetts

Hon. Jared Polis, Democratic Congressman of Colorado

Hon. David Cicilline, Democratic Congressman of Rhode Island

Hon. Robert Reich, former United States Secretary of Labor

Arts and Entertainment

Gilbert Baker, Creator of the Rainbow Flag

Rory O’Malley, Tony Nominated Actor for Book of Mormon

Dustin Lance Black, Academy Award Winner for Milk

Jason Moore, Tony Nominated Director

Nick Adams, Actor

Kevin Sessums, Author

Mitchell Gold, Author and Activist

Wilson Cruz, Actor and Activist

David Mixner, Author and Activist

Jenny Kanelos, Co-Founder and Executive Director of Broadway Impact

Bill White, Former President of the Intrepid Museum

Gene Stone, Animal Rights Activist, Author of Forks Over Knives

John Turner, Photo Rep

*Endorsement info from candidates’ campaign websites